Shamanic Mathematics

  • ‘At the core of the treatise there was one idea:
  • God is light…
  • The universe, born of an irradiance,
  • a downward spilling burst of luminosity
  • and the light emanating from the primal Being
  • established every created being in an immutable place.
  • But it united all beings,
  • linking them with love,
  • flooding the entire world,
  • establishing order and coherence within it

Georges Duby on  ‘Mystical Theology

I am finally picking up a tangent that I started months ago and will pursue it for a bit- The World Tree of the Shamans and Greek emanationism’s Tree of Life.  When integrating alphabets into my cards, I came to a screeching halt with the Kabbalah until I realized that it had nothing to do with Hebrew and everything to do with the orderly progression of light and sound into matter of the Pythagorean school of Greek mathematicians. So it is off into shamanic mathematics! And it may be a closely held secret in-house, but I can guarantee you that of all scientists, the mathematicians and the physicists truly are the visionaries.

My father’s family were mathematical prodigies. His brother is a CPA and his sister worked in banking. I don’t have much contact with or many stories about my uncle, but my aunt could balance and check her accounts as fast as she could turn the pages (yes this was pre-computerized accounting!)  but my father  got in trouble for getting the highest math score on record at his high school. His family was poor and he was happier on the athletic field than in a classroom, so when he could not show his work, it was assumed that he was cheating.  When the school was obliged to allow him to retake the test under supervision, his score was higher than the first try, and he finished it even faster. Forced to acknowledge that the test results were his work, the school officials demanded to know how he did it. He said “I see the problem and then I see the solution.”

His ability to visualize made him both exceptional and incomprehensible as a landscape architect. His designs were beautiful and enduring. He could see how the land lay, the water ran, the wind blew, and the sun shone through the seasons.  And he could see how the plants matured through time and how they could interrelate with each other and the environment offering maximum beauty for minimal maintenance.  I had the privilege of living as an adult in a house he had landscaped when I was about 5 years old. Even though the house had been a rental for a number of years, the yard was idyllic. He had a terrible time with his business however, because when he planted a sapling that would mature into a 60′ tall tree with a 30′ shade canopy, that is what he saw. His less than visionary clients saw a naked stick in the bare ground and they weren’t happy.

I inherited my father’s mathematical mind, although holes in my vision from my head trauma make doing math problems on paper challenging. I compensate for the loss of vision through extrapolation and movement in the physical realms, and it may be that I prefer horses to skiing because I can trust the horse to see for me when moving at high speeds. However, when I really understood that math is not a linear process for me was when I went to Jonathan Wolf’s fractal show at the planetarium in Albuquerque.  As he projected the visuals of the computers calculations onto the planetarium ceiling I watched the flow of shapes and colors. There I finally felt at home in academic math because his visuals are how I see the elements of my deck of cards (click here) working together.

The cards of the deck are the fractal equation, and the letters of the fire alphabets are the values. Letters of the these alphabets traditionally have numerical values and the shapes of the individuals letters arise out of fractal patterns observed in the heavens. Astro (star) Logy (writing) is a descriptive term for how the ancients decided to document their pragmatic observations of the patterns they saw in the heavens. What I look for in my deck are the values that result in infinite patterns and here is the Fractal Foundations (click here) has to say about fractals:

  • A fractal is a never-ending pattern.
  • Fractals are infinitely complex patterns that are self-similar across different scales.
  • They are created by repeating a simple process over and over in an ongoing feedback loop.
  • Driven by recursion, fractals are images of dynamic systems – the pictures of Chaos.
  • Geometrically, they exist in between our familiar dimensions.
  • Fractal patterns are extremely familiar, since nature is full of fractals.
  • For instance: trees, rivers, coastlines, mountains, clouds, seashells, hurricanes, etc.
  • Abstract fractals – such as the Mandelbrot Set – can be generated by a computer calculating a simple equation over and over.
Leave a Reply

