Mirroring Elroy

I finally figured out how to move with Elroy in the round pen.

He will mirror my movements exactly,

when I am walking on the opposite side of the round pen.

Now I feel like an idiot,

because it should not have taken me 6 months to figure this out.

I managed to break through my own block by deciding that I should walk spirals into and out of the center of the pen and ignore Elroy while I did so.

I know Elroy would rather do things with me than have me do things to him..even looking at him makes him uncomfortable. He’d rather look at things with me.

I know Elroy’s personal space he doesn’t like being encroached on is about 15-20 feet,

much larger than most horses and almost all people.

I’ve watched Elroy and Asad do synchronized dancing in separate pens all winter long.

I almost named this post

‘When Smart People Are SOOO Slow!’,

but I decided to emphasize the positive

because

now I have a direction to work towards

WITH

Elroy!

At last.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.