Leaping Like Locusts

Thank you for coming to my blog.  I appreciate your interest, and want to let you know that the content of this post is being incorporated into a series of books. This blog has been incorporated in  The Gymnastic Circle, Preparing the Horse to Ride, that is currently a work in progress.

When I agreed to write the series, I wanted to make sure people understood that from the horse’s point of view, they just are not built to carry weight on top of their backs because their entire torso is held up by a web of muscle and connective tissue slung between their shoulder blades. I also wanted  show how the particular structure of different types of horse’s hindquarters has an enormous impact on their abilities under saddle. As the series explores how you can help your horse develop the strength and dexterity to carry their rider, it will include what I have learned from my search to explain some of the Iberian horse’s special attributes under saddle.

I found it quite illuminating when I looked into why an Iberian horse turning a cow looks like this:lusitano20extra201

While an American Quarter Horse turning a cow looks like this:

2hip_vbl6548-lindy-wells-acha

And why an Iberian horse at the piaffe looks like this:

Spanish Piaffe

And a galloper, a Thoroughbred, at the piaffe looks like this:

Racing hip piafe

I take the opportunity to share my insights with a larger audience seriously and when the book meets my standards I will post a notice, so stay tuned in!

 

11 thoughts on “Leaping Like Locusts

  1. Very awesome! I have a critically endangered ancient Spanish horse breed that was found segregated high up in the mountains of Utah, 40 miles away from the old Spanish trail that their ancestors were herded up on from the missions in San Diego. We call them California Vaquero Horses to honor their heritage and history. California Bridle riding style and tack was developed off their backs. It is a breed standard to have a D shaped hip. My 2 1/2 year old stud colt (soon to be stallion) leaps like a locust with ease and for fun. I’d love to send you his video and pictures so you can see him move. A 1997 peer reviewed genetic article was written about 118 horses that were tested out of 256. The results were only Spanish ancestry with trace amounts of the ancient Iberian Garrano pony. I’ve never seen a horde breed that looks even remotely similar to them. They look like they are from another time.

  2. Pingback: Welcome to the 2013 November Blog Carnival of Horses | EQUINE Ink

  3. I just note in the biblical quote, it speaks of “thou cloth his neck with thunder” in the King James version. I think that refers to the distant sound of thunder made when a horse shakes his neck. The ancients worshipped the horse because of the connection with “thunder”.

Leave a Reply

